Previous Topic

Next Topic

Book Contents

Book Index

Change Workflow

The following figure shows a high-level Change process workflow in the OOTB system.

Change Workflow

Note: CSM uses several features to manage the Change workflow (ex: The Change Form helps create, manage, and track Changes, One-Steps help move the Change through its workflow, Automation Processes notify stakeholders via e-mails, an Approval Process enforces Approvals, a Change Dashboard notifies stakeholders and tracks metrics, etc.).


A Change typically has several contributors. Depending on your workflow and the size of your company, many of these contributors may have combined roles:


A Normal Change and Emergency Change workflow moves through the following phases. A Standard Change is typically the result of an Incident or Problem and has only an Implement phase.

Change Phases

  1. Classify: Change is logged, and basic classification details are added (Change Type, Title, Description, and Priority), either manually (creator logs Change) or automatically (Change is logged from Problem or Incident, autopopulating many of the classification details). Creator assigns an owner. Then, owner identifies the affected CI (Primary CI and Service Affected) and assesses the Change (Risk/Impact, Necessity, Feasibility, Backout Plan, Cost, etc.)

    Owner submits a Normal Change for assessment approval. Emergency Change and Normal Change progress straight to Schedule phase.

  2. Schedule: Owner schedules the Change (Proposed Start/End/Review date).
  3. Implement: Normal and Emergency Changes wait for implementation approval. When received, these Changes and Standard Changes are assigned tasks, percent of the implementation completed is recorded, and budgets can be viewed.
  4. Review: The implemented Change is dispositioned, review notes are documented, and actual start and end dates are recorded.


Based on the type of Change, different workflows and statuses are encountered. The following are all of the Change statuses, showing which Changes move into that status, and what occurs in that status.

  1. New: Change type, priority, and title are recorded. A Requestor is identified if different from the form creator, and a description of the Change is recorded. If a Normal Change is later nominated to become a Standard Change, another Normal Change Request is created, and it returns to a New status. If an Approval is denied, the Change changes back to a New status (Normal and Emergency Changes).
  2. Evaluating: Affected CI and Service are identified (Normal and Emergency Changes).
  3. Assessing: Assessments are documented (ex: Risk, back out plan, etc.). Ownership is assigned (Normal and Emergency Changes).
  4. Waiting Approval: CAB member(s) provide Approval, and Change automatically changes to Scheduling status. If the Change is denied, the Change changes back to the Classify phase, where it can be reset to start over (Normal Change).
  5. Scheduling: Proposed start and end dates are recorded, and a review date is assigned.
  6. Approving: CAB or ECAB approves the Change, either by e-mail, or voting on the form (Normal and Emergency Changes).
  7. Implementing: Completion is tracked, Tasks are assigned, and budgets are viewed (Normal, Emergency, and Standard Changes).
  8. Review: Final disposition of the Change is determined, review notes are recorded, and actual start and end dates are recorded (Normal and Emergency Changes).
  9. Closed: Change is closed. Change cannot be reopened (Normal, Emergency, and Standard Changes).
  10. Denied: Change approval is denied.

See Also

About Change Requests

CAB Worksheet

Steps to Implement a Change Advisory Board